Sewing in deep water


This is the sketch I made at 6 am this morning when I woke up with an “idea” in mind (it’s interesting how creativity hits, especially when it’s in a field you are not that experienced in and in a way that I would NEVER even think of – I AM GOING WITHOUT ANY PATTERN OR INSTRUCTION HELP WHAT SO EVER, that is why I want to share it already in case I blow it later on so I write about it when I am still in a good place 😉 )

18199227_1457351774324846_8860140936231869220_n

Now, several hours later, it looks like this;

18301034_1457793800947310_8755053188596898866_n

I have used the original idea but I have altered the design and making the hems even. I REALLY wanted that huge hood and I actually pulled it off so far, even the attachment to the neckline seems to be a no-problem. On the open sides seen in the picture I will do faux leather inlays that I will lace if the fit is too loose with leather strings. In the front as “buttoning” I will do lacing with ribbons but that comes later when I put fodder in! I will also make long, symmetric sleeves (without the leather I had in the original idea I guess, haven’t decided yet 😉 )

The layout is now in progress as I go, with the original sketch in mind, but I have stepped aside from it.

Note, I have NEVER done ANYTHING without patterns and instructions before, now I have to figure it out myself.

I am in DEEP water here, completely swimming in the unknown. But that is the purpose and essence of “unchained creativity” isn’t it? I decided to go completely with my gut feeling at this point and see where it takes me!

Still not sure if this will be a good thing or turn into a quilted blanket, it is still hidden for me 😉 But my GUTS tell me this will be good for me at least.

It’s not the finished product that is the goal, it is the development and the process in itself.

Til later (when I hopefully haven’t trashed the entire thing)

//Paulina Medepona

About PaulinaMedeponaArts

Art creator with many projects going on! Drawings, paintings and photography. I paint/draw concert- and film images for fun, very keen on portraits!
This entry was posted in Artistic Pleasures, Sewing projects, Work in Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

