Hard work ahead!


Today I completed the first painting in my new art direction. It’s not much (and I will fix a few things before I take a new picture (like the “dark funeral” in the background, the letters are off..)…. it’s hard to take a justified photo in a sunlit room with very shiny paint x)) but the important part is that I used my own reference and no other things!

This will be my new direction. I will, from now on use my own references. Things I have captured myself. I might step off and use others’ references at some point but most of the times I will use just my own photos.

The thing with “order portraits” has never worked for me so why should I adapt to anyone else? Why should I adapt to what people “wants”? I should make what I want, when I want and HOW I want. I should not be known for copying other people’s work/photos! I should not be known for stealing other people’s reference photos that ANYONE with a computer can find on Google….. I mean, there are TONS of artworks using the same photos…

No. Not for me anymore. I will from now on take my camera with me everywhere I go and snap pictures of friends, people, bands, concerts and so on. And then paint the photos/portraits I like the best.

My future dream scenario is that I have authority to organize some casual photo-sessions with some black metal bands (my main interests: everything concerning black metal culture, occultism and satanism) and paint oil portraits of the images I shot. But I must gain a reputation in the circuits first and that will take a while, I’m aware of that (couple of years of hard work, at least)! It will take a while to be taken seriously. I mean, some artist with an old system camera who wants to snap pictures of people just the way they are and then paint them…. I mean… that sounds a little bit out of it!

But this is me and I shall stand up for it, it’s the only thing to do! It’s the strife and hard work that brings success in the end. I have some friends who have proved that to me, one of them quite recently when I had a look at his current location on his path for success for the first time for real. A true dream that has been worked so hard for that it has materialized into reality and to fulfill the old dream seems like the next natural step to take. One day, that will be me too!

Fresh paint all over but now I consider this finished (I will upload a better picture when dry in a week or two)! This 80x100 cm oil painting on black canvas is a time-document of a snapshot that I took with my own camera during the gig that Dark Funeral did at Getaway Rock last weekend! The figures hidden in smoke and darkness in the painting is Lord Ahriman (@lordahrimanofficial) and Heljarmadr (@heljarmadr_official) in a brief moment in their smoke clouds!

Fresh paint all over but now I consider this finished (I will upload a better picture when dry in a week or two)!
This 80×100 cm oil painting on black canvas is a time-document of a snapshot that I took with my own camera during the gig that Dark Funeral did at Getaway Rock last weekend! The figures hidden in smoke and darkness in the painting is Lord Ahriman (@lordahrimanofficial) and Heljarmadr (@heljarmadr_official) in a brief moment in their smoke clouds!

This is the painting I talked about. I will paint some more images from that show after the weekend, I have some stuff to do! 😉

//Paulina Medepona

About PaulinaMedeponaArts

Art creator with many projects going on! Drawings, paintings and photography. I paint/draw concert- and film images for fun, very keen on portraits!
This entry was posted in Artistic Pleasures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hard work ahead!

  1. CamKam says:

    Låter super coolio, lycka till!

Leave a Reply

