Pay for fame? PLEASE


Recently I have been frequently “assaulted” by the zillion “Get More Followers-accounts” on Instagram (I must have blocked at LEAST 100 of them already). Instagram is my main social community and it’s so damn annoying. And then I haven’t even MENTIONED the accounts that announce “I will make your art famous (justpay50dollarsamonth)” and even have the stomach to comment on my artworks (it feels like I have blocked half of Instagram by now….).

I have learned ONE thing (among many) from having successful art friends (that is actually able to live on making their art in different forms, both photography and visual art), and that is that no fame and money comes easily, and CERTAINLY not through some of these obvious “shortcuts”.

I get offended by these accounts. And then I realize I have a long way to go so they don’t even DARE to assault me because I’m already so successful that even they realize they can’t do shit for me 😉

I have a long way to go in this new “era” that I have entered, but I will fight my way forward. Bit by bit. Because there are no shortcuts if you want to do it for real. No shortcuts and hard, intense work!

This is a selfie and a progress image I shot the other day with the big painting I’m working on. As you can see it’s pretty big so it takes a lot of time to cover the canvas properly with “stuff”.

Work in Progress by Paulina Medepona (selfie with the selfie ;) )

Work in Progress by Paulina Medepona (selfie with the selfie 😉 )

Work in progress by Paulina Medepona! I will add more skulls to the left side. Mixed media; acrylics and oil!

Work in progress by Paulina Medepona! I will add more skulls to the left side. Mixed media; acrylics and oil!

Today I’m going to Getaway Rock Festival, get some musical input (not THAT many great bands this year but it works) and maybe inspiration. I didn’t think about getting a press pass for my system camera when there was time (would have been great to shoot some inspiration to paint later, on the festival) but well, maybe next year I will be able to do that! My new “art idea” requires a lot of photos of my own solely! 🙂

//Paulina Medepona

About PaulinaMedeponaArts

Art creator with many projects going on! Drawings, paintings and photography. I paint/draw concert- and film images for fun, very keen on portraits!
This entry was posted in Artistic Pleasures, Work in Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

