Old Punk Rock – a step aside into the dirty world of Sid Vicious and Nancy Spungen – 


I started drawing Sid Vicious (Sex Pistols) and Nancy Spungen (his groupie/girlfriend/manager) today!  

Sid and Nancy – Work in Progress –

 
I am not the first person that comes to mind when talking about oldschool punk rock but here I am. Actually, I consider oldschool Punk to be influencial to the Black Metal that saw the daylight (or shall I say darkness) in the 90’s. Not entirely, but there are some similarities and big differences. Punk can be (more often) very political and “aware of the shitty world around us and what the authorities are really doing to bring the people down, fuck that shit, I’m angry“, Black Metal is (often) more like the opposite, more like “the world is going to end, the society is hollow and there is nothing I can do about it more than escape it for a while and keep to myself and the darkness, I’m either angry or indifferent, I don’t care“!

Metal and Punk are, to me, like two evil and toxic twins, or the two blades of the same double tipped sword if you like! At least to me they are, DESPITE their absolute and total differences at times.

I’m working on this collection of portraits and wondering, maybe I should name it something that has the same meaning as “misfits” (but I don’t want it to be confused with the band so I better come up with something else)! In that context, my Sid and Nancy fits right in! We will see…. 😉

//Paulina Medepona

About PaulinaMedeponaArts

Art creator with many projects going on! Drawings, paintings and photography. I paint/draw concert- and film images for fun, very keen on portraits!
This entry was posted in Artistic Pleasures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

